How to Get ISO Certification

How to get ISO certified

How to Get ISO Certification

With quality assurance comes trust — trust among the stakeholders within an organisation as well as between a business and its customers. Whether a company is selling a product or service, a quality management system helps maintain a high standard on a consistent basis. ISO certification recognizes an organisation’s commitment to quality. Read on for more information about what is ISO and how to get ISO certified. 

What is ISO Certification?

ISO certification is granted by the International Standards Organisation. This independent, non-governmental concern includes members from over 160 countries. It awards certification when a company implements standardisation processes for its quality management system (QMS). It ensures the proper planning, execution, and management of the QMS system. Above all, it helps with the ISO certification process.

The Purpose of ISO Accreditation

Regardless of the industry, any organization doing business in Australia benefits from ISO certification. It organises the processes involved in quality management while improving the efficiency of those processes. Businesses across the globe received this ISO certification and use these standards in their quality management systems.

How to Get ISO Certification

Gaining certification requires an audit by an independent third-party organisation. This Certification Body (CB) sends an auditor to the company on two separate visits. The first visit ensures that the proper QMS is in place while the second visit examines the operational process. After completion, the auditor provides their recommendation to the Certification Body which then grants certification. After three years, a recertification audit takes place. 

The 5 Steps of an ISO Audit

Achieving ISO certification involves the following 5 steps:

Step 1: Initial Audit

The first step in how to get ISO certified is the initial audit. This step verifies that a quality management system is in place. It also gives the CB confirmation of the scope of business operations and reviews the documentation process. Upon successful completion of this step, the CB recommends proceeding to the next step.

Step 2: Operations Audit

The second step of the certification process is an audit focusing on the operations of the organisation. This step is a gauge of the team’s understanding of their policies and the QMS itself. In short, this step gives the CB the information needed to recommend certification.

Step 3: Certification

If after the second audit the auditor recommends certification, a report is sent to the CB who then reviews it. Upon approval of the auditor’s report, the CB awards the ISO certification. 

Step 4: Surveillance Audits

The surveillance phase follows certification. This audit examines any updates to the QMS. For example, since becoming certified, any internal audits and management reviews receive a review. Completion of these updates occurs between nine and 12 months after certification.

Step 5: Recertification Audits

Businesses stay certified with a recertification audit. This audit examines the progress made over the three-year period since initial ISO certification. Upon approval, the certificate is re-issued for another three years.

SafeWrite Helps Businesses Keep Compliant

SafeWrite makes the ISO certification process easy. The templates, checklists, and customisable audit builder available in our software allow QMS managers to do the following:

  • Manage internal quality audits and inspections
  • Build customisable audits and recurring inspections
  • Create a checklist register 
  • Record corrective actions
  • Create internal quality audits, and inspections

Streamline Your ISO Certification with SafeWrite

To learn more about how to get ISO certified, book a demo today.

Safe Write